Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ANR vs Passive headsets

Probably been discussed, but...

I have been using DC 13.4's since I started training...I love them, but for me I think the actually block out too much. By that, I mean there have been many times my CFI looked at me about the stall horn starting to go say on short final. I would never hear it till it got louder....
    It started bothering me. I know at my age, some of my hearing is down. I am an audio recording/sound engineer so I try to keep aware of it, but I know that these younger guys hear better than I do.....

A while back when we were working before my checkride I asked to swap headsets with him. He has a pair of ??? ANR's. I could not believe the difference. While the general loud engine sounds were lower, the mid and higher frequencies were much more present than on my DC's. I told him NOW I know why he hears the stall horn quicker than I do. He also said he was amazed how much the DC's muffled everything.

So now I am really thinking of getting some ANR's of some kind. They are expensive, but I feel like they would be worth it. I could keep my DC's for pax.

Any thoughts? comments?

I had thought about trying the small Sony in-ear ANR's. We have a lot of musicians who use them. They are about $150. I thought about putting them in then wearing the DC's over them and plugging in the Sony's instead of the DC's. But the Sony's only offer 10db of ANR vs about 20-25 on most of the regular aviation units.

I did find a company that is making a great looking ANR headset at a reasonable price. I won't mention it here so as not to compete with Neil. I wish he handled it. I think they just sell direct.

BTW: Why in the world don't the airplane companies tie the stall transducer into the audio panel so it comes through the headset. Or even a stall light like on some larger aircraft. Never understood that...

Re: ANR vs Passive headsets

Originally posted by oldflyer