Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    dkalwishky Guest

Unhappy Plane crash in Kirksville, MO - 10/19/2004

The NTSB has released thier findings on the crash of the small commuter turbo prop plane that crashed while on approach to Kirksville, MO a year and a half ago.

At the end there is 15 pages of the transcript from the cockpit. It amazes me at how UNPROFESSIONAL these two pilots were in the final phase of this flight.

If I ever get like that I hope someone takes my license away.

Transcript

Dave

ckmreynolds Guest
    Yikes! That was disturbing!

Chris

lindy500 Guest
    Very disturbing....

CraigH Guest
    Pretty sad. For awhile I thought I was reading a Beavis and Butthead script.

Okay, maybe I'm a rookie... merely halfway through instrument work, learning holds and working on perfecting a centered needle..... but, isn't an MDA an MDA, regardless? And if called overcast is 300... I'd make that 1320 a hard floor, period. Especially if my crewmate cannot see what I think I see.

According to their company procedures, that MDA is the limit until positive visual contact with the ground. If the captain said he thought he could see ground then he has to ask the first office what he thinks... why wait for an answer? Power up and go around!

Some time ago, my instrument instructor asked me, "What's the purpose of a landing?" I thought and thought.... I wanted to give obvious answers but knew there had to be something more to his question but hadn't a clue what it was. I must have driven myself nuts before I gave up and asked him.

So, what is the purpose of a landing?

"To go around."

-Ken

analli Guest