Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 18
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    KTZR
    Posts
    2,236
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Google Earth Sectional Add-on

    If you haven't used google earth yet, well...give it a try. it is an interesting program that allows you to view world satellite and topographical data on a totally interactive globe.

    More over, if you are a VFR pilot, there is an add on that provides All United States VFR sectional charts
    as an over-lay (http://www.fboweb.com/antest/ge/intro.aspx?old=1 ). Also, three dimensional airspace is drawn, and current weather products are overlaid. You'll need to tailor the addon to your specific system, as the amount of displayable data is huge.

    You may draw routes with the measuring tool, converting distances to nautical miles, then tilt your view to fly your route viewing terrain, and the possible impact it may have on your route. Then, you may turn the map opacity down to pick out visible landmarks from the satellite images underneath.

    there is just one word for this type of free technology:
    Cool.

    Below is a link to an exampe picture.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    AirVenture Guest
    Sweet...thanks for the link!

  3. #3
    dkalwishky Guest
    Wicked, awesome, cool!

    I know what I'm doing for the rest of this afternoon!

    Dave

  4. #4
    irishflyer317 Guest
    Despite what my wife says, COMPUTER TECHNOLOGY ROCKS!!!

  5. #5
    krautfed Guest
    Leonard, can you explain how to add VFR charts to Google Earth, that link I only found info on tracking flights.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    KTZR
    Posts
    2,236
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Originally posted by krautfed
    Leonard, can you explain how to add VFR charts to Google Earth, that link I only found info on tracking flights.
    Just read down the page and you will see it all. Right in the middle there are links to the map overlays and everything else.

  7. #7
    krautfed Guest
    Originally posted by LeonardMack
    Just read down the page and you will see it all. Right in the middle there are links to the map overlays and everything else.
    I finally found it, but when I click the layers to turn it on... no charts show up. I'm messing with it now though, think i figured it out. Just crashed Google Earth though

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Akron, Ohio
    Posts
    3,385
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Originally posted by krautfed
    I finally found it, but when I click the layers to turn it on... no charts show up. I'm messing with it now though, think i figured it out. Just crashed Google Earth though
    Same problem here. The sectionals show up under the "places" when I check the box - I don't get any overlays. Any ideas.

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    KTZR
    Posts
    2,236
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Adjust the overlay (map) opacity.

  10. #10
    Captain_8ball Guest
    I had this on my older version of Earth, but this isn't working for me. I open the KMZ file (or whatever it is) and the layers appear in my places, but nothing shows up. There 3d airspace does, but not the sectional overlay. I think that was written for the older version.

  11. #11
    dkalwishky Guest
    I am using the most current version and it is working fine for me. I spent wy too much time last night playing with it

    Make sure you are running in the Direct3D mode for the graphics.

    Dave

  12. #12
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    KTZR
    Posts
    2,236
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    Works great for me in the latest version too.

  13. #13
    Captain_8ball Guest
    Great, you guys are going to make me waste half the day with this at work.....

    ...Maybe not, it works fine at the office. Looks like my home version is buggered up.
    Last edited by Captain_8ball; 02-02-2007 at 10:12.

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Akron, Ohio
    Posts
    3,385
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    By the way - I just downloaded to the newest version and that fixed the problem. If you are having trouble, under the help, there is an option to check for updates on line. Download the newest version and give it a try.

  15. #15
    smccrory Guest
    That's amazingly cool. What would be even cooler is a 3-D representation of airspace, airways and instruments approaches inside of MS Flight Sim. Talk about some training opportunities...

    Scott


 

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Register