Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Lalani Guest

maintaining altitude and airspeed.

I've been really bummed out because I'm having a hard time understanding how to maintain a proper altitude and airspeed. It's just a fundamental I haven't been able to get. I brought it up to my CFI and even after we went over it a few times it still hasn't been clicking. I think what the real problem is is that the airplane is just such a horrible classroom! Too many new sensations, too many things that need divided attention, ...

Any tips or tricks?

It's hard to tell what's going wrong without seeing what you are doing. But most of the time, it's chasing instruments around along with a failure to learn the visual (looking out the window) cues of what straight and level looks like.

If that's the case, someone's CFI needs to start covering instruments Single best cure I know of.

cnthinkoname Guest
    When I started training I had the same problem. I felt so overwhelmed with so much going on at once. Radio (class C) , heading, altitude, coordinated flight, etc. After I few lessons I began to figure it out (it took me around 4-5 lessons). How much time have you been flying?

Looking outside is CRITICAL. I was relying on instruments, but found that the VSI on the g1000 cockpit lagged a second or so and as a result I was all over the place. I learned where level was in relation to the dash and horizon (changes with airspeed), trimmed to that (you would be surprised as to how much this helps), and made very minute adjustments with 2 fingers to not over control.

On a somewhat separate note, when you think you are trimmed let go of the controls and see what happens. It turns out when I thought I was trimmed, I was nowhere near close.
    Last edited by cnthinkoname; 09-25-2011 at 18:47.

Quote Originally Posted by Lalani View Post