Hello

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hello

Hi i am Horacio Warren i have a question about air taxi service. I am a commercial pilot and i want to start Air Taxi services so can i started this service.

An air taxi service requires much more than just being a commercial pilot. There are a lot of details which appear in Part 135 of the FARs, but here are some of the requirements to obtain a 135 certificate of operation:
    • Airplane or airplanes leased or owned, suitable for the proposed service.
    • Pilot or pilots who have at least a commercial pilot certificate with instrument rating, who qualify by having both the required number of hours and pass an air taxi checkride with an FAA Inspector.
    • A designated maintenance facility approved by the FAA.
    • An operations plan/handbook meeting FAA requirements.

Once the air taxi certificate has been issued, the requirements continue; here are some of them:
    • Each air taxi pilot must be IFR current, but single pilot air taxi service does not allow IFR (neither filing in VFR conditions nor actual), except with a further and more detailed air taxi checkride in an airplane with a fully serviceable 2 axis autopilot.
    • Each air taxi pilot must pass the same air taxi checkride every 12 months according to the regs, unless the FAA decides to make it more often. When I was flying air taxi, we had to do the ride every 6 months--I don't know the reason our particular operation had that requirement.
    • Each airplane must have a full 100 hour inspection.

I applaud anyone who can jump through all the necessary hoops to become a 135 operation, can continue to do it, and who is financially successful. It's a tough business.

Cary

Comment

Originally posted by HoracioWarren View Post
      Hi i am Horacio Warren i have a question about air taxi service. I am a commercial pilot and i want to start Air Taxi services so can i started this service.